Gibson Off to the Races as AMA Arenacross Series Hits Denver


2009 Champion Remains Undefeated in 2011

AURORA, Ill. (January 24, 2011) The AMA Arenacross Series heads to its fourth round of the season this weekend at the Denver Coliseum with TUF Honda’s Jeff Gibson continuing his quest to becoming the first rider to go undefeated in the course of the championship. Through the first three rounds of the season, Gibson, has managed to take the checkered flag. With two nights of action coming this weekend, the opportunity for his rivals to end the dominance is there.

Gibson’s advantage over his closest competitor in the standings is already in the double-digits at 15 points over Babbitt’s Monster Energy/TiLUBE Kawasaki presented by Maxxis’ Chad Johnson. The opportunity to dethrone Gibson has been there, thanks to strong rides by Johnson and other riders like his teammate Tyler Bowers and Foremost Insurance/Spinechillers/HondaofFairfield.com’s Nathan Skaggs.

Traditionally, back-to-back nights of high-intensity action produces some unpredictability while also giving riders who may find trouble on the first night a chance at redemption on night two. Should Gibson manage to maintain his momentum, you can bet backing it up might very well be his biggest challenge all season.

“I think it really just boils down to being in the right place at the right time,” said AMA Arenacross Series Director Jayme Dalsing. “Jeff (Gibson) has been fortunate in addition to being fast. However, the fastest riders in the field are so close together on speed that it’s those little mistakes or those windows of opportunity that ultimately determine the outcomes of things.”

While Gibson’s early dominance is hard to ignore, the series is still just three rounds into the championship and beginning this weekend in Denver, hits possibly the most difficult stretch of the season. This stretch includes three two-night rounds over the next four weeks in addition to an enduring travel schedule that ultimately ends up on the West Coast at the conclusion of the run. A shakeup of some sort is likely imminent.

As the Arenacross class soldiers on through its championship, the Arenacross Lites Western Regional Championship returns to action in Denver after making its 2011 debut at the opening round in Tulsa. Xtreme Cycle and ATV Suzuki’s Cory Green captured the first win of 2011, but by virtue of his top-10 standing in the Arenacross class, will not defend the win. As a result, a new face will stand atop the box in Denver in the Arenacross Lites class.

Advance tickets are available for this weekend’s Denver Arenacross at the Denver Coliseum Box Office, Ticketmaster charge by phone and ticketmaster.com. Tickets cost $2 more the day of the race.

Arenacross Class Points (After Race 3 of 19)

  1. Jeff Gibson, Blacklick, Ohio, Honda – 75

  2. Chad Johnson, Rhinelander, Wis., Kawasaki – 60

  3. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ky., Kawasaki – 58

  4. Nathan Skaggs, Chillicothe, Ohio, Honda – 51

  5. Zach Ames, Prospect, Ohio, Honda – 48

  6. Cole Siebler, Emmett, Idaho, Honda – 45

  7. Gray Davenport, Lehi, Utah, Kawasaki – 43

  8. Willy Browning, Pleasantville, Ohio, Honda – 36

  9. Cory Green, Nowata, Okla., Suzuki – 35

  10. Kevin Johnson, Spring, Texas, Yamaha – 30

Arenacross Lites Class Eastern Regional Points (After Race 2 of 10)

  1. Adam Gulley, Jonesburg, Mo., Kawasaki – 50

  2. Patrick Massie, Washington Court, Ohio, Honda – 40

  3. Kyle White, Freeport, Ill., Honda – 38

  4. Tyler Sehr, Belleville, Ill., Honda – 25

  5. Steve Mages, Sardinia, Ohio, Kawasaki – 22

  6. Austin Coon, Spencer, W.V., Honda – 21

  7. Zachary Jaynes, Princeton, Texas, Yamaha – 20

  8. Kyle Hussey, Moscow Mills, Mo., Kawasaki – 19

  9. Chad Cook, Oklahoma City, Okla., Kawasaki – 16

  10. Travis Merrill, Fowler, Ill., KTM – 15

Arenacross Lites Class Western Regional Points (After Race 1 of 10)

  1. Cory Green, Nowata, Okla., Suzuki – 25

  2. Chad Cook, Oklahoma City, Okla., Kawasaki – 22

  3. Aviery Hickey, Decatur, Texas, Kawasaki – 20

  4. Brian Alquist, Lagrange, Calif., Honda – 18

  5. Travis Smith, Lancaster, Calif., Yamaha – 16

  6. Tanner Moore, Auburn, Kan., KTM – 15

  7. Jeremy Huddleston, Eustace, Texas, KTM – 14

  8. Chase McGrath, Bennington, Neb., Honda – 13

  9. Travis Merrill, Fowler, Ill., KTM – 12

  10. Cody Doerfler, Peyton, Colo., Yamaha – 11

New for 2011! Live timing and scoring from each round of the AMA Arenacross Series. To follow the intense racing action live, log onto www.arenacross.com.  For all media requests, please contact Brandon Short at brandon@nextlevelsportsinc.com or 949-365-5750.

Never miss out on the latest news! Follow the AMA Arenacross Series on Facebook and Twitter! Log on to http://www.facebook.com/AMAarenacross and http://twitter.com/arenacross today!

Feld Motor Sports®, Inc. is the world leader in specialized arena and stadium-based motor sports entertainment.  Feld Motor Sports, Inc. productions include Advance Auto Parts Monster Jam®, Monster Energy Supercross, AMA Arenacross Series, Nuclear Cowboyz?, and IHRA® Nitro Jam®.  Feld Motor Sports, Inc. is a division of Feld Entertainment, the world’s largest producer of live family entertainment.  For more information on Feld Entertainment, visit www.feldentertainment.com.

Filed in: Content

Recent Posts

Bookmark and Promote!

Leave a Reply

You must be Logged in to post comment.

© 2015 GoMotocross. All rights reserved. XHTML / CSS Valid.